Start a new topic

Sound on the pi-top

I have no experience with sound on the pi-top. Before I start, I would therefore like to ask some questions. A bluetooth speaker would certainly be an option, but as far as I can see the internal bluetooth of the rpi is not yet working without problems.

1. The pi-topPROTO board has a pin labelled SPDIF. I don't see any signal there, but as far as I understand the HDMI audio signal is SPDIF. Does anybody know anything about that pin?

2. What audio does the pi-top speaker use? The raspi analog audio output, or the hdmi audio?

3. What are the dimensions of the pi-top speaker? Will it fit in between a pi-topPROTO board and the Raspberry Pi? If yes, will it cover up the sd card slot? How does it sound if the cover is closed?

1 person likes this idea

Unlike a laptop the Pi-Top v1 has simply neglected to bring the basic RPi connectons to the outside leaving a typically British heath-robinson affair. AKA a development environment. Not the sort of thing to win credibility points in Italy where style and comfort are everything. We just don't get it so we teach untidiness and live oblivious to untidiness. Our designs are not out there on the world stage and we just don't get it unless we pay some consultant a huge sum of money to tell us why. Meanwhile I guess we must get some kind of benefit because it would be insane otherwise. Use chewing-gum to hold the speaker on the back of the screen. That'll save on the expense of screws.

Difficult to say much about the pi-top speaker since it is not available yet but it would appear that it plugs directly into the pihub breakout socket just like the pitopPROTO board.  It therefore takes its audio output from the SPDIF pin and is thus HDMI output (ie digital).  At a guess I would think access to the sd slot would be difficult with both a speaker and PROTO board installed.