Start a new topic

Using the Pitop Speaker with a different OS

Hi, sorry if this is a stupid question, I'm very new to working with the Pi, I'm trying to get the Pitop speaker working with retropie, when I do the install from the command line I get the error "E: Unable to locate package pt-speaker" I know I'm missing something but I'm not sure what. Thanks!

guys same question for me aswell, if anyone can help?

The pi-top speaker uses hdmi audio. If you want to use it with another OS, you need to search for how to enable hdmi audio for your OS.
Same here guys, i'm using Pi-top ceed with 2 pi-top speakers and Raspbian. Even after forcing HDMI sound output, it doesn't seem to work.
Just to make sure, i also tried mono and various sound sources.
Is piOS debian based ? If yes, maybe we could just add the repos to apt and install it.

See "Setting up the pi- top speaker" in "Tips and tricks". Maybe this helps.

1 person likes this
Thanks for the hint Rene, unfortunately hdmi drive=2 was already uncommented and omxplayer didn't work more.
I'm back on Pi-TopOS for the moment but it doesn' t work more !
I also tried all output types in VLC with no luck. If anyone has a clue, thanks in advance !

Despite being a newbie to all this I've trawled the web and found the following. Not sure if I can post the link so have separated it. Read towards the bottom and there's a guide of how to add the relevant bits and pieces to install the pi-top specific files. http: / / www . rs - online . com / designspark / electronics / eng / blog / lorawan - enabling - the - pi - top

1 person likes this
I have done some further investigation into how the pt- speakers work. It is not sufficient to enable hdmi audio output, but the volume of the speaker needs to be set using i2c. See the script /user/bin/pt-speaker, the python script /opt/pt-speaker/pt-speaker-controller.py and the script /opt/pt-speaker/playback.configure

1 person likes this