Start a new topic
Solved

Tye-Dye screen on power up

I just got my Pi-Top 24 hours ago and so I followed the instructions and assembled it this morning before I went to work.  It was a lot of fun putting the pieces together!  Of course, when I turned it on, it couldn't work could it?

Here is what it does on power-up.  I've already made a ticket, but I wanted to share it here lest someone else ran into the same problem.

Thanks for your time and help.

Erin

IMG0630.JPG
(1.59 MB)

I dug in and did some more research namely plugging the RP3B+ into my TV and the same result.  As it turns out, the pitop software DOES NOT WORK with the RP3B+.  I was able to get Raspbian and Kali Linux working.  I'm a total newb - having avoiding linux for decades because I just don't understand it.  I'm trying again, but it sucks when you know nothing and don't know where to start.

Erin

I bought a Raspberry Pi 3B+ and tried to use it on the Pi-Top v2 laptop. 

The current issue I am having is that wlan0 and wlan1 is not showing up at all on the interface list when doing an "ifconfig". 

By way of history, when the Pi3B+ was installed, the system froze on the rainbow screen and the power light on the Pi3B+ was signallaling S-O-S. 

I downloaded the Pi-Top Polaris image from https://pi-top.com/products/os#download . This also failed to boot. 

I had to re-install the Pi3B using the recently flashed Polaris image and issue the following: 

sudo apt update 
sudo apt upgrade 
sudo rpi-update 

I then swapped out the the Pi3B for the Pi3B+ and used the updated SD card. Boots up (Yay!) 
Ethernet interface picked up an IP address but not a gateway :-( 
After setting the interface to dhcp and not manual - wired connectivity is sorted. :-) 

However, wireless interface wlan0 and wlan1 are listed in the configuration but are not listed after an ifconfig. 

So I got past the tye-dye issue and got a network problem.